Sinatra “That’s Life” McClendon “Thats baseball” and July

Nobody sang “That’s Life” any better than Frank Sinatra, a song about not getting down in life, but persevering,  “I thought of quitting, baby but my heart just ain’t gonna buy it.”

Throughout the baseball season when the Mariners hit a bad stretch, such as their 13 game losing streak, or their five game losing streak, or when they have been shutout twice in three games, scoring two runs in the other, reporters ask Mariner manager Lloyd McClendon questions like, “Are you worried?” or variations of that question.

McClendon’s answer is always the same. “That’s baseball.”

It is a true statement. He always says it is a long season, this is just one stretch of it. Also a true statement.

“You’re riding high in April, shot down in May
But I know I’m gonna change that tune
When I’m back on top, back on top in June”

For the Mariners they were riding low in April with a 7-13 record. But before last nights 2-0 loss to the Twins they had risen to nine games above .500 and have the best record in all of baseball since April 23rd.

“I’ve been up and down and over and out and I know one thing
Each time I find myself flat on my face
I pick myself up and get back in the race”

And that is what the Mariners have down, they hit a bad stretch and bounce back. As McClendon say’s, “That’s baseball.” He is saying you don’t get too down,  and you don’t get too high. There are always good and bad stretches of baseball and don’t get caught up in either one. McClendon doesn’t  worry publicly, in fact when things are going well, he might nitpick wins, saying we have to get better. He does not get upset, maintaining a well balanced equilibrium during bad stretches. 

The song does end with  potential of a bad ending:” But if there’s nothing shaking come this here July
I’m gonna roll myself up in a big ball and die, my, my.”

So the Mariners, to avoid dying this month, should shake things up with a big trade, bring in a bat or pitcher. Because “that’s baseball” too.
Read more: Frank Sinatra – That’s Life Lyrics | MetroLyrics

 

Leave a Reply

