Mariners conclude meetings, now we get…who?

The Mariners said they have little interest in free agent outfielder Josh Hamilton. Length of contract and dollar amount is the reason. It is fiscally responsible, and baseball good sense. You don’t want to pay $25 million a year to anyone in his late thirties when production is questionable. It is far better to spend millions on the largest scoreboard screen in baseball. Everyone wants to attend a live baseball game and watch it on high-definition.

Cover of "Field of Dreams (Widescreen Two...

Cover via Amazon

The Mariners recently concluded a meeting to discuss trades, free agents, and other contract issues. What took them so long? Were they busy familiarizing themselves with their new TV remote. Perhaps downloading Netflix movies like “Eight Men Out,” a fictional rendering of three innings  during a Mariner game; or “The Natural,” the story of Chone Figgins” (a satire); “Field of Dreams,” the story of Mariner fan, Rip Van Winkle, who dreams the Mariners win the World Series. Fortunately for Winkle, he never wakes up, sleeping in eternal bliss; or the classic “It Happens Every Spring,” where once again Mariner hopes die early. (like Friday the 13th series, this baseball series has gone on too long); and finally “Bull Durham,” the story of all press releases from the Mariner front office coming from press agent Kevin Durham. And in case there is any confusion, the new Spielberg movie “Lincoln” is not about Mariner corporate dunderhead Harold Lincoln, but about some president over a century ago. By the way my review here  http://terrynelson.net/lincoln.html

Anyway the Mariners are doing something. It is called watch and wait. I am tired of being patient. I want action. Miami and Toronto have been busy, Detroit signed Tori Hunter, teams are claiming players off waivers.

I watch the waiver wire. I get teletypes in my office. I check the Internet constantly, downloaded the free agent tracker. I email my Mariner insider. What I have learned is the Mariners claimed Scott Cousins. I did not know he was a baseball player. I thought he was a skater or something . I have lots of cousins, not sure I need another one.

I need a blockbuster. I need something to write about. Trader Jack where are you? Get me somebody.

One comment

  1. Väskor Michael Kors

    Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this blog.

    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s tough to get
    that “perfect balance” between superb usability and appearance.
    I must say that you’ve done a great job with this.

    In addition, the blog loads very fast for me
    on Chrome. Outstanding Blog!

Leave a Reply

