Giant pterodactyl, the birds, and the Mariners

For reasons I never found out, the only movie my parents never let watch as a kid was “Rodan,” a Japanese movie about a giant pterodactyl that terrorized Tokyo-as If Godzilla did not do enough damage.

Rodan fights Godzilla in Ghidorah, the Three-H...

Rodan fights Godzilla in Ghidorah, the Three-Headed Monster (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It may have had something to do with my babysitter who lived down the street, who years earlier asked my parents if she could take me to a movie. Her last name-I do not make this up-was Blood. And she had a sister. The Blood sisters. They scare me to this day.

Abbott (right) and Costello, 1942

Abbott (right) and Costello, 1942 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

She told my parents it was an Abbott and Costello movie. It wasn’t. It was another Japanese movie with a reptile creature from the sea, once again destroying Tokyo. I left the theatre running home, a frightned little boy.

I guess my parents did not want to see me running home again, but was when I was little. I was ten now, ready for anything.

Orchard Oriole (1st year male)

Orchard Oriole (1st year male) (Photo credit: thefixer)

Rodan would have destroyed the Mariners, not unlike the Orioles who recently swept the Mariners in Camden Yards, the Orioles bird nest. The O’s have won five of six against the Mariners, telling me that the Mariners are for the birds.

Fortunately Seattle does not have the National League Cardinals on their schedule. It is also lucky there are not more bird teams to face. The NFL has the Falcons and the Eagles and if a cute little oriole can manhandle the M’s, imagine what those two fierce creatures could do.

How lucky are the M’s there are no osprey, no robins, no little finches-golden, or otherwise, no Seagulls-except the ones swooping down into Safeco looking for food, not sea faring ballplayers. The worst would be the woodpeckers. What they could do to a bat rack is horrid to contemplate. 

But there are the Blue Jays whom the Mariners recently swept. They are 4-2 against those birds, but they are Canadian and there is nothing fierce in Canada except a runaway moose. And the Mariners have a moose mascot, so nothing to fear.

I do not want to look at the schedule to see if any more birds are on the horizon. Like Rodan they may want to terrorize.

Leave a Reply

